Supra-man – Chad Jones joins Real Scientists

After an exciting week in the field – and how good is the Amazon as a place for field work – we must return, as always to the lab to really get to the essence of things [Ed: biased author of post is a molecular biologist].  We are delighted to welcome our next curator, physical chemist Chad Jones of Brigham Young University in Utah.  Chad/@TheCollapsedPsi is a graduate student and podcaster, co-hosting the podcast The Collapsed Wave Function can be found via his blog of the same name.

had earned his Bachelor of Science in Chemistry at Weber State University. His brother “told me I wasn’t smarty enough to get a BS in Chemistry. I wanted to prove him wrong.”  Chad went on to Brigham and Young to pursue higher studies,  where he researches gas phase conformations of supramolecular complexes. What to know what supramolecular complexes are? Tune in to the tweets 🙂

20131204_171451

 

As well as bringing up three boys, who “are currently experiencing the unique upbringing that comes with having a science nerd for a father;” Chad ended up in science because:

“..because I became passionate about it during my college years. I never saw myself as a scientist. I thought I was going to be a musician. Things changed. I think sometimes people think they have to say things like “ever since I was a boy I wanted to be a …” to prove they are passionate about something. To me the opposite is true. If your dreams and passions today are the same today as they were 15 years ago that could be a sign that you’re not working on them at all.  Passions change. Dreams change. Career ambitions change.  Some people do have the same dream job from childhood to adulthood. That’s great for them, but you shouldn’t be ashamed of that’s not the case for you”

Chad started his blog in 2011, and since then has won awards for his science communication, written articles and become an expert in the subject of chemistry for Answers.com. He is a passionate advocate for science education and communication and we are privileged to have him on board at Real Scientists.

And what does Chad like to outside the lab?

“Music is still a hobby of mine. I don’t imagine myself add a famous rock star anymore, but I still like to play guitar when time allows. Not nearly as much as in high school. I played guitar 6-10 hours per day for many years. I would skip school to play and write songs with friends. I also like biking and hiking. Utah has some beautiful mountains that many here just ignore.”

Please welcome Chad Jones/@TheCollapsedPsi to Real Scientists!

Leave a Reply

