Thanks to James Murray for a week of lessons in sharing astrophysics

BvWJKggCQAAtxyu

James’ view from his observatory

Last week (17-23rd August) we all were treated to the wonderful curation of @RealScientists by James Murray. You can read a great run down of his background in James’ introduction post.

During his week we got to hear about outreach to the next generation of budding astrophysicists, tips for supporting citizen science and a run down of what telescopes to buy.

You can read all of James’ tweets here or you can see all the photos he posted here. If you enjoyed James’ week on the @RealScientists account please don’t forget to go follow his regular twitter account @JamesTeach.

Finally i’ll leave James to tell you about his week via our post-curation Q&A.

How did you find your week as a curator?

It was amazing. The conversations took off in some very interesting directions. I very much liked that people expressed some very different points of view very passionately without any rancour. And some great ideas popped out!

It can be a shock talking to 13,000. Did you find the sudden rush of interactions (good and bad) daunting?

I thought I would but it didn’t take long at all. It was a little addictive at times (especially as one tweet got picked up and retweeted nearly a 1000 times over two days). I just hope I answered everybody and interacted with all those that took the time to participate

Were there any lowlights?

I might have barred one tweeter who had dropped a few obscenities, otherwise the only lowliest were when I couldn’t tweet through work duties!

Is there anything you wanted to get out of / do on the RS account that you didn’t manage to fit in?

I think a week is the perfect amount of time. I was all tweeted out after seven days. I’d do something similar at the drop of a hat.

Do you have any tips or advice for future RS curators?

Be yourself… show the good and the bad parts of the life. People respond to the that

Other than yourself of course, are there any other people/accounts that people should follow if they liked you and what you covered?

@chris_bloke: administrator of one of the world’s fastest computers. Used by life scientists to solve all sorts of medical mysteries. in his spare time he is a photographer (I have shown several of his images) and archer.

What TV show do you think everyone should go watch right now?

ED – He didn’t answer this one so I’m going to make up an answer and go with: BraveStar, it’s got star right there in the name so it seems like a good fit

A huge thank you from the RS team and our myriad of followers, James! Farewell!

About Matthew (@MCeeP)

I have worked in science now for about 8 years since graduating from Lancaster University. The first 4.5 years of my career were spent at a little company called Mediwatch Biomedical helping to develop a prostate cancer test. It was while working at Mediwatch that I published my first paper and my first patent! Following mediwatch I spent an very enjoyable half a year working as a consultant for a small research company (Leksing) and a very talented artist called Jane Edden who was working on a project with Kew Gardens and their Economic Botany collection. The remaining 3 years have been spent working on my PhD at Cranfield University (which I have now finished) where I developed a range of novel fibre optic based sensors under the supervision of the Department of Engineering Photonics."

Leave a Reply

